Posted by: Dan | May 25, 2009

Dusting the Bookshelf

One thing I’m rather proud of having here on the blog is my “Bookshelf” page, providing a list of books that I’ve read and recommend on the variety of topics I’m interested in and blog on, along with some books that are academic mainstays in their fields. I admit I haven’t read all of the latter (I only have so much funds to buy books, and some are not found in your standard public library, especially in Cyprus), although I know those books well by reputation.

I’m sure that most readers don’t take much of a glance at this virtual bookshelf of mine, but I like having it anyway. And lately I’ve been thinking that it’s a bit too cluttered, that it should be pruned down to a more concise bibliography of where my mindset is. Perhaps I should take out books that I haven’t actually read, important works though they be. And perhaps I should take out sections that I do not blog often on. For instance, I have them grouped into the following sections:

* Popular Science
* Birdwatching and the Environment
* Cell & Molecular Biology
* Evolution and The Modern Synthesis
* Human Origins, Minds, and Society
* Philosophy of Science
* Politics and History
* Biology Textbooks
* Documentaries
* Field Guides

I don’t actually blog much on anthropology, nor am I an anthropologist. Maybe I should take those out. Similarly with the philosophy of science, or politics. How should I group the book references that I retain? Into two categories, “Biology/Science” and “Birds/Nature,” representing the separation of my professional interest in molecular/developmental/evolutionary biology, and birdwatching and conservation? Or should I add a third category, addressing “Pseudoscience and Science Literacy?” What about important references such as Textbooks, Documentaries, and Field Guides?

I think I’m going to prune it down to this in the coming days:

* Birdwatching and Conservation
* Molecular, Developmental, and Evolutionary Biology
* Science Literacy Issues
* Biology Textbooks
* Documentaries
* Field Guides


Categories

