Posted by: Dan | December 30, 2008

After a Year in Cyprus

Today marks one year since I expatriated to Cyprus, and it is also the end of the calendar year – making this an ideal time for me to pause for a moment to reflect on life here.

The main obstacles to the year for me have been things that I would have had to face back in the States as well: frustrations associated with (a) buying and moving into a new flat; (b) pulling off a wedding and playing tour guide in a country that I was still lost in; (c) finding a job and then looking for a better one; and (d) getting familiar with new friends and finding my way around in a new city. The only major obstacle that I would not have faced in the States is learning a new language (Greek).

Getting to know an entirely new culture has been fun. Most of the people I’ve gotten to know in Cyprus are friends and relatives of my wife, and they’re all good people: friendly, intelligent, and well-respected. Mostly though, the culture I’ve experienced has centered around food, and lots of it, yet somehow I seem to have lost about 5Kg.

Anyway, Χρόνια Πολλά (Happy New Year), with wishes for peace on Earth, and good will to all.

Oh, and just in case you were wondering, my most popular posts posted in 2008 or very late 2007 were:


Responses

  1. Happy Monkey to you.

    Are you staying in Cyprus for the foreseeable future, or are you expecting to repatriate at some point?

    Allen MacNeill says The “Intelligent Design” Movement on College and University Campuses is Dead.

  2. Hi Ivy,
    Our stay here is open-ended at the moment. We could stay put here permanently, but we’re open to moving back to the States or somewhere else in Europe if that works best for our jobs (such as for an academic appointment in the years to come). We’ll just reassess as we need to.

    Glad we can always count on Allen for an amazingly well-written criticism of creationists.

    I hope Cornell is still treating you well – life was good to me there.

  3. I saw this and thought of you.

    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/columnists/matthew_parris/article5400568.ece#

    Hope the coming year brings you and your family many good things.

    Anns New Friend


Categories

