Posted by: Dan | February 24, 2008

Communism in Cyprus

‘Communist’ on course for Cyprus poll win

I’m not sure how to view this. I’m very liberal by American standards, but extremely right-wing by European standards. I don’t yet understand the local politics here in Cyprus, so I don’t have much of an opinion on this election as far as specific issues go. But I have to say, it’s odd seeing a Communist elected president of a country.

The big issue is, of course, reunification with the Northern Turkish-controlled portion of Cyprus, which has little to do with left-right political polarization as far as I can see.


Responses

  1. You missed the fun.

  2. I’m very liberal by American standards, but extremely right-wing by European standards.

    US Politics Have No Left Wing

  3. Cyprus leaders seek fresh talks
    The leaders of the divided Greek and Turkish Cypriot communities have voiced optimism that they can make progress towards reunification of the island.


Categories

