Posted by: Dan | October 25, 2007

Tagged by a Mutant… Meme, that is

Darn – tagged again. And this meme is a strange one! Kind of like a story that evolves as it passes through a series of chain-mails, this one is changing, and even has its own genealogy.

Rules:

There are a set of questions below that are all of the form, “The best [subgenre] in [genre] is…”. Copy the questions, and before answering them, you may modify them in a limited way, carrying out no more than two of these operations:

* You can leave them exactly as is.

* You can delete any one question.

* You can mutate either the genre, medium, or subgenre of any one question. For instance, you could change “The best time travel novel in SF/Fantasy is…” to “The best time travel novel in Westerns is…”, or “The best time travel movie in SF/Fantasy is…”, or “The best romance novel in SF/Fantasy is…”.

* You can add a completely new question of your choice to the end of the list, as long as it is still in the form “The best [subgenre] in [genre] is…”.

* You must have at least one question in your set, or you’ve gone extinct, and you must be able to answer it yourself, or you’re not viable.

Then answer your possibly mutant set of questions. Please do include a link back to the blog you got them from, to simplify tracing the ancestry, and include these instructions.

Finally, pass it along to any number of your fellow bloggers. Remember, though, your success as a Darwinian replicator is going to be measured by the propagation of your variants, which is going to be a function of both the interest your well-honed questions generate and the number of successful attempts at reproducing them.

Confused? Yeah, me too. But let’s see if I gestate this idea to term:

The best romantic [movie] in SF/Fantasy is: Wierd Science. (Changed; okay, so that’s not the normal example of romance, but so what)

The best hip hop song from 80s hard rock is: I’ll have to go with Walk This Way by Aerosmith and RunDMC.

The best anti-war song in Working-Class Folk Music is:Masters of War by Bob Dylan (I don’t know if that’s the best one, but…)

The best educational TV show on science while growing up was: Mr. Wizard [I added one].

My genealogy is:

My great(e6)-grandparent is Pharyngula.
My great(e5)-grandparents are The Flying Trilobite and Metamagician and the Hellfire Club.
My great(e4)-grandparents are Flying Trilobite and Leslie’s Blog.
My great(e3)-grandparernts are A Blog Around the Clock and The Meming of Life.
My great(e2)-granddads are From Archaea to Zeaxanthol and The Primate Diaries.
My great-grandfather in this meme is The Other 95%.
My grandfather is
Tangled Up in Blue Guy.

My daddy is Greg Laden.

And my fledglings are:

Life of a Lab Rat

Naked Under My Lab Coat

Omics! Omics!

Reflections, Ideas and Dreams

(sorry if any of you have already been tagged, but here’s to passing the link love)


Responses

  1. I seriously debated using Walk This Way, but went with “The Message.” So I am pleased to see that one of my grandchildren picked it up. In only two generations, all of the answers are changed. This meme has some legs, don’t it.

    No spandrels, though. I wonder how Gould would have handled this one?

  2. Hi! I am Leslie from Leslie’s Blog, one of your great (e-4) grandparents.
    I am always so delighted, and sympathetic when I hear that I am not alone in finding the “rules’ a bit taxing.
    Nice to see that my “line” is advancing. This has been such a fun meme to watch.
    I see that you are a hash runner. I never knew what that was until I met a gal and her dog from Singapore (on my dog’s blog) that do hash. Seems beer is an essential ingredient. I may have to look into this sport…
    All my best. Keep ‘reproducing’ and running…

  3. Indeed, hashing is one hell of a good time! You know, although I mention it in passing here and there, this is the first time that I can recall that someone who knew what hashing was noticed those passing references. Cool!

    For more on my local hash, here’s the website that I started for them: Ithaca HHH.

  4. […] October 25th, 2007 in meta I’ve been tagged by Dan with genetic algorithm meme of sorts! The rules are kind of interesting: There are a set of […]

  5. Hey, Dan. I read the Ithaca HHH blog. You are some brutal insane people. You are having too much fun!!
    I recall a day a few summers ago when I took my dog out for a walk, and all these maniacally smiling people went running down our road, the day after a bag of flour had mysteriously dotted and dashed all along the way. The dog went crazy wanting to run with them, so I took him inside. I was able to catch the attention of one grinning guy and asked what was happening, and he said a ‘running club’.
    I bet it was a local hash club, don’tcha think?
    Here is a link to Kingsleys blog. Not all the posts are hash, but a few previous ones are about it.
    http://www.kingsleydog.com/
    I may have to do some local investigating…

  6. Certainly does sound like it was a local hash club. Good luck in your search!

  7. I’m afraid one of your progeny got eaten by a predator before it could reproduce. Tragic, I know, but that’s biology.

    (Blame honours student assessments. . .)


Categories

