Posted by: Dan | April 6, 2007

Lazuli Still There

I commented a month ago about a rare bird sighting (for the Eastern US) back in my hometown, a Lazuli Bunting. Finally, I got a chance to come down to visit my folks, and as luck would have it, it was still there.

About an hour and a half ago, my dad and I went down to see if it was still there – and stood around for an hour in the cold Spring air, watching everything but the bird we wanted to see, before it arrived at the patch of birdseed spread out invitingly for it. A great look, and a life bird for me.

We also saw (in no particular order):

Cardinals
Northern Mockingbird
Brown-headed Cowbirds
Red-winged Blackbirds
American Crows
Tufted Titmice
White-breasted Nuthatches
Carolina Chickadees
House Finches
House Sparrows
Song Sparrows
American Tree Sparrow
White-throated Sparrows
White-crowned Sparrows
European Starlings
Carolina Wren
Turkey Vultures
Red-tailed Hawk
American Kestrel
Canada Geese
Mourning Doves
Blue Jay


Categories

