Posted by: Dan | December 21, 2006

Wierd Creationist Museum in Upstate NY

I’m not even sure how to tag this post, but I thought it appropriate to acknowledge the wacko creationists, working on their very own museum, here in upstate New York. The Lost World Museum is just NW of Syracuse NY (in Phoenix, NY), and describes itself as:

The mission of the Lost World Museum is to present the greatest evidence ever assembled which validates the creation account found in the book of Genesis.

We will explore past archeological finds and perhaps offer an alternative explanation as we present: the Giants of the pre-flood world, the remnants of ancient technology, the existence of Noah’s Ark, evidence for a worldwide flood, anomalous fossils and out of place artifacts.

These subjects will be the core topics together other resources that will help answer that age-old question: “Is it Apes, Aliens or Adam?”


Wierd. How do these people come up with this idiocy?

More fun – they think that a peculiar mastadon fossil contradicts and therefore falsifies paleontological evidence for the evolution of mammoths, elephants and mastadons.

They aslo think that they’ve found a mythological chupacabra, which turns out to be a fox with mange – but of course they’re right and the experts are wrong. Sure.

Like I said, these guys are wierd.


Responses

  1. They’ve got the Cy, one-eyed kitten as well.

    It sounds like it could be an interesting place to visit, once it opens. but then there’s the question, do I want to give my money to their cause? Maybe some day they’ll have a “free day” so I could get in without paying admission.

  2. Ah, yes, I forgot Cy, the preserved cyclops kitten, that supposedly shows that mutations cannot be beneficial.

    I’m not sure I’d want to go – what would I get out of being told fairy tales and rubbish? I’d much rather go to The Museum of the Earth, which is run by actual scientists who do accurate science. Learning something that’s correct is much more fun.

  3. I’m not sure I’d want to go – what would I get out of being told fairy tales and rubbish?

    Amusement.

  4. Gray fox, no mange, according to ‘scientists.” The article could have used more detail. For example, when they sent tissue samples off for analysis, what tests were performed? Chromosome check? DNA sequencing analysis?

    hat tip to Coturnix.


Categories

