Posted by: Dan | October 23, 2006

Yardbirds and Migration drop-ins while I write

As I’ve noted, posting has been slow around here while I write the ol’ dissertation, but I’ve had plenty of company, just outside my window. From outside the window where I write at home, this is my setup:
feeders

Quite a few more birds have been frequenting the area though, albeit mostly the usuals: titmice, chickadees, a house finch or two, a carolina wren, downy and hairy woodpeckers, w-b nuthatches, an occaisional junco, dozens of goldfinches, and a few cardinals. Goldfinches – goodness! I saw 35+ at one time on one occaision, and there’s usually been 20+ at any given time. I’ve been looking for red-breasted nuthatches at the feeder, but they’ve been staying off in the woods. Most juncos have left for the Fall already, with only an occaisional male visiting. Occaisionally I catch a glimpse of pileated or red-bellied woodpeckers also. And the cardinals fledged a couple weeks ago. Seeing the parents feeding the two juveniles was quite nice:

cardinals

And while I haven’t gotten any *good* pics of migrant songbirds passing through, I’ve seen a few visitors recently that made my day – without even actually going on a birdwatching day. Among them:
Golden-crowned Kinglet
Ruby-crowned Kinglet
Yellow-rumped Warbler
American Redstart
Palm Warbler
Yellow Warbler
…among others.

The G-c kinglet especially caught me by surprise last week, as it crashed one of the windows here at home, and posed for a while as it recovered from being stunned – the best look of a golden-crowned kinglet I’ve ever gotten.


Responses

  1. Carnivalia

    Grand Rounds 3.5: A Visual Tour is up on Health Care Law Blog. Carnival of the Green #50 is up on How To Save The World. Carnival of Homeschooling #43 is up on About Homeschool. Four Stone Hearth will kick…

  2. […] And last, but not least, my own contribution on Yard Birds – resident and migratory songbirds that I’ve enjoyed watching as I write my dissertation recently. […]


Categories

