Posted by: Dan | July 15, 2006

Spicing up science with creativity

The Scientist has an interesting article up: Discouraged by science? Try writing, subtitled: Q&A with Chris McCabe, a geneticist who writes novels to escape from the drudgery of writing unsuccessful grants and un-published papers.

And I gotta empathize a bit with McCabe. While that’s not at all why I started blogging, blogging has transformed how I look at my own science. Having a way to connect my science and reading of literature to the rest of biology, and society in general, has played a major role in motivating myself. It’s become so much more fun to read journal articles at a voracious pace, and I get great practice for articulating the relevant science to others.

So, whether it’s writing novels or blogging, having some creative outlet can definitely rejuvinate a life in science.


Responses

  1. While that’s not at all why I started blogging

    It was for the babes and the money, wasn’t it?

  2. LOL! Yep, that’s me… just like a rockstar, in it for the fame and glory. :-)


Categories

