Posted by: Dan | May 7, 2009

Announcing New Blog Banner

As visitors to the site no doubt already see, I’ve got a new blog banner! Amazing artist, blogger, and all-around science fan Glendon Mellow (check out his blog The Flying Trilobite) has kindly painted this fabulous banner for Migrations, really incorporating the themes that inspire me and my journey (if you will).

From the most obvious aspect comes the Red Knot on the right, symbolizing not just birds but threatened birds in particular. Although Red Knots are not commonly seen in Cyprus (they’re vagrants here), one of their most threatened migratory stopovers is relatively near where I grew up, the Delaware Bay area in the Mid-Atlantic region of the US.

The hand brushing aside olive branches so the observer may look out to the island ahead symbolizes both the perspective of discovery and my own peregrination to the Mediterranean country of Cyprus. It’s a journey that has challenged me, enriched my life, and just been amazing all around.

And the symbols of migration are plainly there – the silhouetted v-formation above, the threatened migrant in flight, the impression of exploration and discovery.

So I’d really like to thank Glendon for the great work!

Glendon has his own comments, with a ‘making of’ post to follow.


Responses

  1. That is fantastic!

    Now I want him to do one for me!

  2. I’d absolutely give a strong recommendation to going with Glendon as an artist for anyone’s blog. I’m ecstatic about how it turned out.


Categories