Posted by: Dan | April 29, 2007

The First Ithaca BioBlitz

… with possibly more in coming years. Yesterday was awesome, as I’m sure Lisa would attest, while finding some Red Efts:

The species inventory is STILL being compiled (my bet was that it would near 300sp.), and pictures are being compiled, via contributions of the few dozen individuals who participated. My pics can be found at my Flickr account.

Although I “instigated” the event, I really did very little – Kathie and Megan (left and right photos below, respectively) are really the ones that pulled off the BioBlitz, complete with a headquarters for collecting data, an array of microscopes, collecting equipment, and of course the land to search for organisms. Also, thanks to the Cornell Dept. of Plant Pathology, for donating money for lunch food.

While we wait for the final species tally, here are some additional pictures, available below the fold.

Towards the end of the day, we fed earthworms to a few flatworms, which proceeded to secrete digestive enzymes as their predatory mechanism.

Plenty of close-up discovery to be had:

Responses

  1. Looks like you guys had a wonderful time with many great species!

  2. Very cool! I wish I could have come.

  3. [...] 9th, 2007 by Dan The results have been tallied, and posted on the Cornell Mushroom blog for the First Ithaca BioBlitz. You can check the Mushroom blog for the spreadsheet of results, but the vital [...]


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

